Injuries and Catching the Crazies

I find myself in a period of downtime. It’s been one little injury after another since the marathon. After trying to do speedwork last week and injuring my adductor, I decided it’s time to back off the running and let my hip flexor completely heal. The bad news is that after 4 days I went for a test run and saw zero improvement. So I’m taking a different tack, I joined a gym.

It’s been a little over a year since I belonged to a gym and even then I was rarely ever using it. When I’m running a lot, there’s just no time. I’m not a professional athlete. Running 60-70 miles a week eats up my free time so there’s not much left for the weight room. Back in my heyday as a basketball player, I used to hit the gym after playing ball and as a result, grew some very strong legs. Everyone has that moment where they realize they’re not as young as as fit as they used to be. Yesterday I had that moment. 6 or so years ago I could sit down at the leg press with 5 plates on each side and bang out three sets of 10. Yesterday I put 2 plates on each side, got into the contraption and released the weights. I literally crumpled and couldn’t get the weight back up. Holy crap! The guy working out next to me quickly helped me get the machine back to the locked position. Thankfully. Now granted, it’s not the same leg press machine I’m accustomed to using, as that one was busy the whole time. I chose the stand up machine and I don’t know if it’s weighted heavily without added weights or if I’ve really lost that much strength, but that was a little defeating. I removed a plate from each side and destroyed my quads with the workout. So much for putting up 500+ lbs on the leg press. Oh glory days..

Meanwhile I’m unable to run until this thing clears up. Running really reduces a lot of stress and you don’t realize how much until you’re not running. I’m a creature of movement. I can hardly sit still to string together 8 hours of work. Since I can’t run, I’ve been trying to do the elliptical. So far so good. No pain. But I don’t get the same workout and I can’t push the way I do with running. It’s a sugarfree cookie to my buttercreme frosted cake. Meanwhile the stress builds…

Let’s hope I don’t burst.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

