Post-Marathon Remorse


When I went up to Orange County to run the OC 5k I was pretty close to PR shape, if not PR shape. Two weeks later I ran Rock n Roll Portland. The original plan was to then prepare for a 5k in June and a series of track races. What happened instead was that I was talked into the marathon, so I took a week down to recover after RNR Portland, then tapered slightly for RNR San Diego and ran the full. Since the marathon I’ve had IT band issues, hip flexor issues, and the latest adductor issues.

I ran my first fast workout since the marathon yesterday (really since mid-May). It was nothing crazy, just mile repeats, my bread and butter. I was a little leery of my hip flexor but after taking Wednesday off it seemed pretty okay. The workout was hell. I was slower than my goal pace for the 10k next week and it was killing me. Last time I did mile repeats I was in the 5:20s and not maxing out while last night I was struggling to keep it under 5:40. It was a confidence destroyer. I’m out of shape. Bad. Fucking marathon ruins at least a month of training and that’s why I dislike it. When I signed up I was hoping to run conservatively and not destroy my body so I could continue as planned. Instead, my worst case scenario has come to pass and not only am I out of shape, but I’m injured too. So I’m going to take some time off to heal and hopefully come back and start putting in the mileage. The problem is that I’m about 13 weeks out from Chicago and that’s going to abbreviate my training schedule. 2:40 is pretty much out the window. Let’s be honest, I don’t want to run Chicago at this point. I’d much rather take the time to build a base, hit some high mileage, then add workouts, then be in good shape for a bunch of halfs at the end of the year.

One extra marathon has ruined my whole season. I’m not happy about it. I understand how Lauren Fleshman felt after NYC.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

