Highest of Highs and Lowest of Lows

Last week was disappointing with my poor race at the Carlsbad 5000. That’s something like 5 bad races in a row after a string of good ones. Instead of moping, I did what I do best, I punished myself with quality running this week. After tomorrow I’ll be at 75 miles for the week with three high quality runs and a fast 10 miler on Monday morning.

Today I ran 18 miles, planning to do some kind of tempo at the end. According to my logs, I haven’t run more than 17 miles since October. I was a little concerned about my lack of long runs lately anyways and the last 17 miler I did was rough. But my run this morning turned out way better than expected. We ran 10 at 7:35/mi and then I accompanied Mitch for close to 4 miles at 6:45ish and then put the hammer down going for 6:05s for the last 4. The last 8 ended up being (6:48, 6:49, 6:45, 6:23, 6:21, 6:01, 5:59, 5:54) on hilly terrain. I was pushing but not struggling at the end and that’s a huge confidence booster. I also realized I haven’t been pushing myself on the long runs and building that kind of mental toughness I used to have. Maybe that’s part of the reason I’ve felt myself shying away from the pain rather than leaning into it and embracing it. All I know is that I felt strong at the end of today’s run and felt recovered and ready to go quickly after. Another few weeks and workouts like this and I’ll be ready to make a big splash. Work hard!

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

