On Track

With the Carlsbad 5000 coming up, I decided it’s time to start hitting the track again, hardcore. Since I basically had a season of half marathons in the fall/winter, I haven’t really been running track workouts because I’ve been focusing on my tempo efforts. Now that I’ve got a few 5ks coming up, it’s time to get serious. I ran a 10x400m on Monday and 8x800m on Thursday. I can tell I’m rounding back into form quickly, which is a relief, because I really don’t want to embarrass myself in Carlsbad. I’ve run 16:40s the last couple years, but my last few 5ks have been in the 16:20s and I’d like to be moving in the right direction. Originally I was wanting a PR (16:19 or faster) but I think that’ll be a stretch. Carlsbad isn’t a fast course.

I’m hoping to hit some short distance races this summer before I really get into my Chicago Marathon training but it’s hard to know when exactly I should cut it off. I have a 10k on the 4th of July that I’d like to run well at, but it’ll probably be right when I start the high mileage. I suppose I should look at a calendar and make some solid plans. It helps to be a man with a plan!

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

