Trails…

All I can think about since running Mt Woodson last weekend is trail running. I love hiking and exploring and getting outdoors. So trail running is really the next obvious step. You get to see and explore so much more by running. I turned a 4 hour hike into a 1:15 run last weekend and I wasn’t even tired. It begs me to figure out how far I could go.

I was talking to Dr. Runco about trail running and one of the crazy staged races in France, Ultra Trail du Mont Blanc. He mentioned the Gore-Tex Transrockies Run that takes place in Colorado every year. Wow. If you thought the Ragnar Relay was cool, this is the next adventure. It’s a 6 day staged race run through trails in the Rocky Mountains. It reminds me of the Leadville 100, only less hard and broken up into stages. There’s a 2-person 6 stage event or you can do 3 days solo. It’s very expensive, but looks like a ton of fun. How could you not like these trails? You also live in a tent camp for 6 days with all of the other runners. It sounds like an experience to be had. Now… I know my limits and the altitude would probably kill me at this point. I went running in Boulder a couple summers ago no problem, but this isn’t 5,200ft it’s 9,000ft up to 12,000ft. As a sea level dweller, I probably need to do some altitude training before I can ever consider something as crazy as this. But man I want to see it.

There’s something about trail running that’s always been appealing to me. When I started reading about these guys running 50 and 100 milers, it was exciting. It was amazing to think that the human body can go that far. You’ve got guys that can run 50 milers in under 6 hours. The funny thing is that when I look at their shorter distance PRs, they’re nothing amazing. I’m in the ballpark of possibility.
I’ve come to a point in my life where the life I thought I was going to have isn’t the one I’m living. It doesn’t even seem like a remote possibility anymore. It has shaken my priorities to the core. As a result, I’m coming out of my shell to find more things that make me feel alive. I want to do more traveling, see more of the world. I want to hike steeper paths, run longer trails, simply because I can. I’m a restless soul in search of a better existence.

Unfortunately, I have the unique problem that I’ve built myself up so strongly that few can maintain the pace that I go. And those that can haven’t been as interested in the adventures I want to partake in. I like to push myself, it feels good. When I hike, I hike fast. I’m usually the first one up the hill and while I don’t mind waiting, I crave the challenger that is pushing me up the hill faster. At some point here, I’m going to run Rim to Rim across the Grand Canyon. A friend put the thought in my head a while back and after reading about it and seeing videos documenting other’s trip, I want to do it. At some point I’d like to run Rim to Rim to Rim, but I’m not ready to take on something that big, yet.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

