Keep the Freshness Locked In

I took some time off. Okay, I didn’t take a lot of time off. I found myself wanting to run with my run club, so I did. However, I’ve taken a different approach to my running. I’ve been so time focused over the last year, trying to get back into shape, that I stopped enjoying the running for it’s own sake. That was a big mistake.

I’m going to run some base and not worry so much about my workouts. Everyone needs a little downtime. I haven’t run a real base since before Boston in 2010. If you go hard all the time, you get burned out. That’s where I was standing. So this week I ran as I felt. I was happy to wake up in the morning and get in 7 miles with the sunrise. Friday I picked it up a bit and was rewarded with the blissful runner’s high for the first few hours of work. It’s nice knowing that with all my races coming up, I’m not thinking about how hard I’ll have to push myself, or what time I’ll have to run to not be a disappointment. I’m just going to run and whatever happens, happens. If I PR, that’s awesome. If I don’t, that’s okay. I know I’m in pretty good shape anyway.

Trail running has been a part of my thoughts as of late. I’ve wanted to do trail running, but it doesn’t always fit into the schedule. I mean, it’s dark by the time I finish my runs after work. I only have Saturday and Sunday, and Saturday is always my group run. So today, Sunday, I decided to hit a run I’ve been meaning to do. I ran up Mt Woodson in Poway. It’s the highest point in San Diego that’s not out in the east part of the county. I drive past it everyday, with it’s beautiful boulders showing off and it’s cap of antennas. It was just under 4 miles to the summit, 2,100ft of elevation gain. I made it in just over 41 minutes. It’s amazing how a 2 hour hike can be compressed into 41 minutes, just through sheer will and running. There were a lot of hiked sections because of the grade, but I ran as much as I could. What a beautiful view from the top. Due east is a curtain of mountains, some that I explored last weekend. I want to do this more. I feel a certain kind of peace inside, a settling in my soul that I find hard to explain.

So the next few weeks, I don’t plan on stressing or punishing myself to get my runs in. I’m going to run when I can and not worry about the rest. It’s my offseason. Just don’t remind me that I have a half marathon in 2 weeks!

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

