Time Off

I’ve now taken 8 days off from running. It’s my longest break since I was injured about 14 months ago. It was really needed. You can train year round, but if you expect results you’re just going to burn yourself out. I had a few down weeks last year, but never really took time off. I wanted to get my fitness back and I wanted it now!! ::whines:: The time off has been good. I also allowed it to coincide with some personal downtime. I just needed to hang out at home and be anti-social for a little while. I got a lot of cleaning done and finished a lot of tasks I had let sit half completed.

After a week off my legs feel fresh again. I’ve been maintaining corework in the off period. I’ve also done a little more upper body stuff to stay well rounded. I’m starting to get the desire back. All weekend I wanted to go trail running but with the weather being iffy, I just never made it out there. It’s something my training group has been talking about for a while, doing trail runs on the weekends instead of the pavement pounding we always do. For the long runs, it’s just as well. When we start doing faster long runs, we’ll need to go back to the pavement but as long as we’re just building, why not? The hills will be good strength builders.

It’s nice to take a step back and get some perspective. My next race on the schedule is a half marathon, but I’m not worrying about the time. Instead of reaching for the next big goal, I’m just going to focus on getting fitter and faster and let the times drop as they may. I’d still like a PR, but it doesn’t have to be a big one. Baby steps. And I’m really more interested in running the St. Pattys Day 10k the following weekend anyway.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

