2012 Chicago Marathon


Oh my god… I just signed up for a marathon this morning. I’m going to be running the 2012 Chicago Marathon. Can you tell how excited I am? Mortified maybe?

My original plan was to run one marathon, in 2007, and call it good. I wasn’t a runner. It was just something I was checking an item off the bucket list and I was hoping to make some friends and meet some cute girls along the way. Then IT band issues made the marathon an impossibility in 2007 so I joined another club in 2008 and ran towards the goal. I tried to qualify for Boston in my first marathon, making it about 18 miles at 7:15 pace before running face first into the wall. My 3:10 slid into a 3:19 but I was happy with that. I was just happy to have finished in one piece. It was by far the hardest thing I’d ever done in my life. After that I swore off marathons.. especially since I could barely walk for 3 days. Then some months down the road I decided I needed to qualify for the Boston Marathon. Damn!

One dud and one blow up later I ran a 3:05 to qualify (I had been on 2:51 pace through 18 miles and did a LOT of walking afterwards). After I ran Boston in 2010 I decided I’d had enough of the marathon, especially since I seem to be more geared towards shorter distances. I love the half marathon, but my 5k PR is way better than my half PR. It’s always been that way. So I could retire from the marathon right?? Right. It felt good… until someone mentioned wanting to run the Chicago Marathon. I decided if I could get into the Elite Development Program I’d run it. I don’t like having to fight port-a-potty lines pre-race. Unfortunately, my hip injury set me way back so where I thought I’d be close to qualifying, I’m pretty far off. They also dropped the standard another minute for the half. I need to run 1:10:59 to get it, where it used to be 1:12:00. But for some reason, this morning, I signed up anyway!

I’m going to run the 2012 Chicago Marathon. Lets hope for good weather because I’m going for a big PR. I might as well go for it, I have nothing to lose. I’m not going to put in all the work to PR by a couple minutes. If I’m going to run another marathon, I’m going to do something worthy of the effort. Currently the plan is to run sub-2:40. I’m in pretty good shape and I think over the next 8 months, I can squeeze my marathon pace down to 6:07/mi. Oh boy do I have a lot of tempo runs in my future! I’m going to start training in a few weeks.

Surf City Half Marathon is on Sunday. PR or die. Afterwards, I’m taking a full week off. I’m tired. I’ve been running a lot. Why did I sign up for a marathon again?

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

