Juggling A Race Schedule

I’ve been doing some juggling lately. I’m signed up for probably too many races. It’s impossible to peak for all of them so you’ve got to plan well and expect workout-type performances in some of the races. Two weeks ago I ran the Houston Half and had a pretty bad blowup because of a cold and a side stitch. A big part of me wanted to jump back in last weekend and race Carlsbad. I considered it for a few days until recognizing that I wasn’t over the cold, and that I’d get more benefit by running a workout rather than breaking down my legs trying to race at 85%. So instead I did my good deed for the week and paced Jessica to a 1:23. Her last race was really rough (even though she won, but about 5 minutes slower than she’s capable) and she’s had some medical issues so I figured I could keep her head in the game. I think once she gets her issues cleared up and starts doing speedwork (yes, a 1:23 with zero speedwork) she’s going to throw down a massive PR.

I actually got to enjoy the Carlsbad Half Marathon and as a result, my legs felt recovered by Tuesday when I ran a fast tempo run. I’m planning to do a couple more workouts and then taper for Surf City. It’s tough having races so close together, you’re constantly tapering or recovering, so I liked how I trained through Carlsbad. I’m hoping to knock it out of the park at Surf City. My fitness says I’m in the 1:15 zip code but I need to have a race with no external issues. I’m keeping my fingers crossed and keeping the training where it needs to be.

After Surf City I’m going to take a week off, but I got talked into a 10k the following Sunday, then I’ve got 2 races in March, then the Carlsbad 5000. I’m going to transition for shorter stuff for the time being and try to run some fast 5ks and 10ks leading up to Scripps Ranch Old Pros 10k. Then I’ll focus on Chicago. Actually.. my plan is to start my Chicago training after Surf City. I’m going to change my approach to tempos a little bit. I tend to run everything at half marathon pace or slightly faster. In deference to the marathon, every other week I’m going to do a long MP paced tempo. I need to get my body used to running 6:05-6:07 for long periods of time. I figure if I start running 10-12 mile tempos at that pace, I’ll build up my efficiency, which I need because I rarely ever touch that specific pace in training.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

