Peak Week + Injury + Bumble Bee Foods 5k

I had intended to have a couple big weeks during the Christmas break since I had a week off from work and an easy week before Christmas. But due to all of these niggling injuries I haven’t been able to really make it happen. So I went big Christmas week and ran 84 miles, my second highest week ever after 85 I ran one week training for Boston. Of course the week ended badly with me getting hurt right after finishing the run. Nothing is more aggravating than a non-running injury.

Monday: 7 miles easy, nursing the hamstring
Tuesday: AM: 8 miles@6:53 PM: 8 miles@7:10
Wednesday: 7 miles easy
Thursday: 11 miles, Lactate Clearance workout 7 miles@5:44
Friday: AM: 8 miles easy PM: 9 miles easy
Saturday: 10 miles@6:35. Was in a hurry.
Sunday: 16 miles through Chandler, AZ.

Total: 84 miles.

On my Sunday Christmas run I missed lunch so I felt pretty depleted at about mile 12. It was definitely a slog on the way back and I knew being carb depleted sets you up for injuries so I was being careful and staying on dirt as much as possible. I get home, eat something, crouch down, and when I go to stand I feel a burning in my calf/knee area. Not good. I limped around the rest of the night. It has to be the LCL or the attachment site for my muscle, but it doesn’t hurt to the touch. It just hurts when I step funny, it feels like my knee wants to give out or overextend. I was a little worried.. I have no idea what this thing is.

I took Monday off. I tried running on Tuesday and while it wasn’t bad, it didn’t feel right so I made it about a block before deciding it was stupid and walking back home. The Bumble Bee Foods 5k was on Wednesday and while I was hoping for a PR, I was more concerned with being healthy for Houston on January 15th. I decided I’d warm up and if I couldn’t go, I couldn’t go. No sweat.

I woke up on Wednesday morning and got ready like I was planning to race. Before leaving I stretched my calves and hamstrings and jogged down the alley behind my apartment. I felt very springy and good, so I figured I’d give it a shot. It felt okay during the warm up except for a few minor aches. I lined up towards the front and was quickly mashed back to 3rd row. I need to stop being polite about race position, because I had to deal with serious traffic in front of me. First mile clicked off in 5:08 as Anna Pierce passed me. My breathing was a little heavy but I pushed on. I was passing people regularly even though I slowed down to 5:20ish. I just concentrated on picking them off one at a time. I wasn’t really feeling the race though. Mentally I just wasn’t ready to push and my breathing was way too high to push any harder. Second and third miles were 5:24. I like the end of this race because it’s fairly straight and you know where you can start pushing. I threw down a big kick to pass one about 100m from the finish and found another gear to catch and pass another before the line. Looking at my watch, I was sub-4 pace. It was a gear I didn’t know I had. I came in 10th, finishing in 16:28. It’s a good solid race, although I was disappointed in not getting a PR. I wasn’t sure if it was lack of specificity, the high mileage of the previous few weeks, or the two days off and the injury that I was nursing. I made it through the race though. It’s been a little iffy, but hasn’t been reaggravated again since Monday. I’ll be smart about it this week.

That rounds out 2011 for me. One PR, best times:
5k: 16:21
4 miles: 21:50
10k: 34:15
Half: 1:17:48

2 races won. 6 Age Group wins.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

