Lactate Clearance Workout

Tonight I went back to a workout I read about in April this year. It’s called a lactate clearance workout. The idea is to run fast enough to build lactate in the bloodstream and then slow down just enough to clear it at a fast pace. The adaptation will hopefully make lactate clear more efficiently at near race pace.

I actually misread the workout, even though I did it on October 13th. When I did it then, I ran 8x 1000m@HMP-5+600m@HMP+30 and averaged 3:31 (2:22), good for 5:53 a mile. It’s like a tempo run, but psychologically it feels easier because you get these jog breaks. Granted the jog breaks are still run pretty quickly, but it feels so easy relative to the effort you’re putting in on the hard laps. Tonight, because I read the small print wrong, I ran 7x 1200m@HMP-10+400m@HMP+30. The mistake was in the distances (should’ve been 1000m/600m), the speed was the third in a progression of these workouts as listed in the link above. It’s basically 7 miles at half marathon pace, with 5 miles of it 10 seconds/mi faster and no standing breaks. I was aiming for 5:35/(6:15) which comes out to 84s/lap (4:12) and 94s/lap.

Mile 1: 4:10 (1:32): 5:42
Mile 2: 4:10 (1:32): 5:42
Mile 3: 4:09 (1:35): 5:44
Mile 4: 4:10 (1:35): 5:45
Mile 5: 4:11 (1:36): 5:47
Mile 6: 4:08 (1:36): 5:44
Mile 7: 4:09 (1:35): 5:44

I considered an 8th mile and felt good enough to run it, but decided against it due to the high mileage I’m doing this week. I got in 7 miles at 5:44, which is my goal half marathon pace. It actually felt easier than a straight tempo because of the “rest” laps. This is a huge confidence booster, knowing I can hit these paces for this kind of distance and feel like I still have more to give.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

