Every Little Niggle

I’ve been battling the niggles a little bit. Some more serious than others. I’ve had some knee pain for the last few weeks. I noticed my knee stopped cracking and when a joint isn’t cracking, I know it’s a bad thing. When it cracks, most people cringe, but I don’t even notice. It’s just a piece of the machinery. The knee issue happened during my turkey trot. I didn’t notice until arriving at my Grandparents house for Thanksgiving afterwards, but figured it wasn’t a big deal. But two days later, it still hurt to lift my leg off the couch, but it wasn’t a problem while I was running. I was a little concerned that it was the meniscus because that’s where the pain was. I’ve been monitoring the situation and it seems to be clearing up. The pain has slowly subsided so hopefully I escaped unscathed.

On Sunday night before the second run of my double, my hip was hurting a bit. It wasn’t the same issue as last summer, it hurt more in the front and I was a little worried it might be on the femoral neck, since that’s a common place to get a stress fracture. I left for my run thinking I might have to turn right back around, but surprisingly it was fine. When I woke up Monday morning though, it hurt to walk so I took the day off. Apparently it only hurts when I’m walking around barefoot because I haven’t felt it since. I tried running yesterday and experienced no pain, although it tightened up towards the end of the workout I was doing, so maybe it’s just an issue of stretching and strength. I really need to be more diligent about hip strengthening. I may even have to use the hip machines at the gym. Don’t look at me like that. It’s not just for women you know.

Hopefully there’s no more niggles before Houston. I’ve upped my mileage over the last couple weeks trying to squeeze out the last drops of improvement so I can ensure my goal pace on race day. Just need to stay healthy for another 4 weeks.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

