Higher Mileage

I’m currently have a debate with myself. I think I need to run higher mileage. Before the 2010 Boston Marathon I was running between 70 and 85 miles a week, averaging closer to 75. I was ridiculously fit then as well. My summer running was spectacular before I got my hip injury.

On the other hand, running has been taking up so much of my time that it’s been ruining my social life. Let’s be honest, when I get home from an after work run at 8pm, there’s nothing to do. Nobody really wants to start their night at 8pm. As a result, I end up staying home and reading or watching TV. This isn’t ideal. I was going to try to cut down my running or run 6 days a week with more mornings, but if I’m going to increase my mileage I don’t know if that’s even possible. Decisions!!

Secondly, I’ve developed some kind of knee injury. It appeared last Thursday after my race. It hurts in the lower outside corner of my right knee. I’ve never had pain here before. It’s lower than the IT band attachment site so I’m worried it might be the meniscus. So far it doesn’t hurt to run, but it hurts when I’ve been sitting or laying down for a long time. The first few steps of a run can be a little painful but then it goes away. I’m monitoring the situation to determine whether or not it’s getting worse. I’ll be damned if I’m going to let this ruin my January goal half marathon. So I’ve got to take that into consideration.

Really… I just need to get my mileage back up so I can get off this plateau. I also wouldn’t mind running a week at 100 miles just to say I did. I tend to respond to high mileage and after reading about Cameron Levins running 155+ miles per week, it inspires me to work harder.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

