Grand Canyon Rim To Rim

The picture at the top of this blog is one I took on a trip to the Grand Canyon. I arrived just before sunset with just enough time to get a view of the canyon before the sun withheld it’s rays for the night. The next morning I woke up early, found the Bright Angel Trail and took a hike down into the canyon. It was something I’d wanted to do but never had the chance. I only went 3 miles down but it planted a seed. Then I saw this video on Youtube where Devon Crosby-Helms and Krissy Moehl ran Rim-to-Rim-to-Rim across the Grand Canyon and back. It made me hungry to make the run. I think the first time it’ll just be Rim-to-Rim rather than the 42 mile ultra version that I have no idea if I could handle. It took those ladies just over 9 hours and they’re trained professionals. I just have to find some friends that are crazy as me to make the journey. I’ve got a couple feelers out there and a couple that were returned with “You’re nuts”. But I bet it’s the best 20 miler they ever do.

The run can really only be made in the fall before the snows and during the spring. The difference in temperature between the top of the canyon and the river can be drastic. It routinely reaches 100 degrees in the canyon so the weather would have to work out perfectly. We’d also have to carry a great deal of water and have mountain goat legs for the incline to the rim. It’ll be tough no doubt. But I want to do it.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

