Tired and Unmotivated

Going through a little bit of a rough patch. Ever since the half marathon a week ago I’ve been tired. I feel like I haven’t fully recovered yet, when usually it only takes me a few days. It didn’t help that I did some exercises at the gym that I’d be slacking on. My adductors and abductors felt like they got hit by a bus. It made my legs feel like mush Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Today I went out for my first workout since the half marathon and my quads felt like mush. The times were pretty good, but the muscle fatigue was there. So what should I do? Do I take another easy week? Do I take a few days off? Or do I just slog through it knowing it will get better? It’s not like I’ve been doing high mileage so it’s just a little anomalous.

I’ve got a turkey trot coming up on Thursday morning. I’m doing the United Run For The Hungry 10k downtown. I just wanted to run a different race since I did Father Joe’s a couple years ago. Originally I was thinking it might be a chance for a 10k PR, but now I’m thinking I’ll just run it as a glorified workout. I should take all the pressure off and just not worry about it. It’s more fun when it’s just a fun run. Maybe I’ll run fast.. maybe I’ll slack off. I guess it’s best to just enjoy it, knowing I’m making plenty of room for turkey!

Happy Thanksgiving!

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

