Recap of the last 4 weeks

I ran Pacific Beach’s Fire Run 4 miler on August 28th and came in 4th place in 21:50. The placing was a lot higher than expected, mostly because they didn’t offer prize money this year. Timewise I had been shooting for 21:30-22:00 so it was a job well done. I ran with a training partner for the last mile and a half and traded blows with him until I pulled away in the last quarter mile. That was the end of my summer racing schedule.

Given that I’d had races back to back weekends, I had dropped my mileage from 65 to the 30s. Most of that came from the fact that I didn’t get in a long run on Saturday like I normally would. Then the two weeks after were insanely busy. I spent 5 and a half days in Texas a couple weeks ago and only got to run twice that week. When you’re camping and it’s in the 90s during the day, you can’t run if you don’t have access to showers. Big Bend National Park isn’t so big on showers. So the last month of training has been virtually nonexistent. I’ve also had an issue where I can’t seem to hit a workout because of GI issues. My diet hasn’t changed much, so I don’t know what the deal is. Nothing is more frustrating than having to prematurely end a workout with a sprint to the bathroom. So as a result, I’ve only done steady state runs instead of the tempo runs I’d do every week.

The last few weeks mileage have been in the 20s and 30s, but I have been running. I can only hope I didn’t lose too much fitness, since I was near my peak. Last week I managed to get in 57 miles ending in the Ragnar Relay in Napa Valley. Fun race, but a big downhill in the first leg ripped up my quads and left me tired and hobbling for the next two legs. I mean, running 22 miles over 3 runs is not a big deal. I’ve pulled a 7/14 double in a day. No worries. But the hills killed me. It made me feel really out of shape. So I’m going to dive right back in, get up to 65 miles a week, and then start pushing until my next race: Silver Strand Half Marathon. Originally it had been my goal to run with the big boys this year and see how long I could hang with 1:12 runners. Instead, I’ll be hoping for a PR, maybe something close to 1:15. Ideally I’d like to jack up my mileage right now and build a big base but I’m afraid of aggravating my hip issues, which are everpresent. I have some big muscle imbalances and it’s not convenient for me to work on them. I have to go to the gym, which frankly, I don’t have time for if I’m going to run 70 miles a week. I’ve tried doing makeshift workouts at home, but they don’t hit the areas I need the most. It’s a dilemma.

This week I’m shooting for 65 miles with a progression run on Tuesday. It’ll be the first hard running I’ve done in a while. I did some steady state stuff over the last two weeks, but I didn’t run faster than 6:10-6:15. My goal half marathon pace is 5:45. I need some tempos!

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

