Last workout week of race

I almost always do mile repeats the week of a race. I can get some speed in without beating up my legs too much. And I can easily cut it short if I start to feel fatigued. It’s a nice way to gauge how I’m feeling before a race. Last night I did 4x1mi with 60 seconds rest. I ran 5:31, 5:32, 5:23, 5:33. That’s pretty perky in my book. I didn’t even look at my watch on the first repeat so running that fast by feel is a great sign. I didn’t really feel pressed until the last mile and then I could feel some fatigue altering my form.

All in all, a promising workout. Off to the races!!

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last workout week of race

  1. good luck this weekend!

Leave a Reply

