Goal 5k on Sunday

My goal 5k race is this Sunday so it’s time to put up or shut up. I’ve run the course, reviewed it in my head many times. I know where it’s going to suck the most and it’s a matter of how much discomfort can I tolerate. There’s going to be a nice uphill at mile 2, right when it starts getting ugly. That part I’m not looking forward to. The slight uphill after 2.5 across the Balboa Park bridge is going to be trying as well. But man, soon as I hit the fountain and we start that final downhill, you’re going to see smoke coming from my shoes if I’ve got anything left. I’m hoping I’ll still be with the leaders by then. I know if I can hang, I can outkick just about anyone.

2010 Results
Tyre Hines 15:56
Andrew Dixon 16:12

2009 Results
Tyre Hines 16:08
Joshua Lopez 17:57

You never really know who is going to show up to race, but I think I stand a good chance of winning. My goal initially was to break 16 minutes but this 5k is pretty hilly so I might not be fit enough. In any case, I’m going to go out with the leaders for the first mile and hang on for dear life.

My workouts the last few weeks have been a little deceiving. I ran that 10x800m at goal pace a few weeks back and was spot on. I ran 5x1200m last Friday but my legs were tired from the previous day’s fartlek so I wasn’t hitting my splits. I’ve also had some really good tempo runs and some frighteningly terrible tempo runs in the last few weeks. I’m looking forward to the upcoming half marathon training simply because it gives me a known quantity to compare to. I have lots of data points for previous tempo runs so I know how well I’m doing. I’ve never done a 5k season like this, so I have no idea how I stack up.

All I know is that I’m in pretty good shape and I’ve been hitting 65 miles a week for the last month. On Sunday morning we’ll see how I stack up to my expectations. That’s all that really matters, right?

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

