Running on Full

One of the difficulties with not being a professional runner is that your running schedule is heavily dictated by your job. I can run at the crack of dawn or right after work. Pretty much every other time is difficult to impossible. In order to run in the morning I’m up at 5:30am and that really only gives me enough time to do 7-8 miles and my body usually isn’t ready to do anything fast. So instead I do most of my quality runs after work. The problem is, I eat a lot during the day, which somewhat conflicts with my night time running. You can’t really run fast with a full gut. There’s nothing worse than having to stop or break up a workout because you have to sprint for a bathroom. I’ve worked on figuring out what diet works and what doesn’t, but it’s like playing roulette. I can never get it completely nailed down. I bring it up this week because I pushed back my tempo on Monday due to fatigue and then skipped it on Tuesday because my stomach wasn’t cooperating. It’s frustrating as all heck! I really WANT to do this tempo run. I NEED to do this tempo run. But instead, I’m going to have to let it go and just head to the track tonight.

I think my stomach is my worst enemy. Race anxiety, preventing workouts… totally counterproductive. Sheesh.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

