Speedwork

I haven’t been doing a whole lot of speedwork this year. I’ve been working mostly on tempo paces since it has the most effect on my running, especially for the half marathon distance. But now that we’re in summer and I’m running short races, it’s time for some track work and some sharpening.

I was supposed to run a 10,000m on the track last Wednesday night but I decided to scratch before I left work. I just wasn’t feeling it and in a longer race like the 10,000 you need to be feeling it. I also didn’t feel like I had much in the way of leg speed so what’s the point of racing if you can’t really race? I went out and did a 7mi tempo run at half marathon pace instead. I’m glad I skipped the race, I couldn’t hit 10k pace for any meaningful amount of time. Since then I’ve had a couple track workouts, 800s and 400s, so hopefully that’ll get my speed going. It’s a big deal when you haven’t run faster than HMP in 6 weeks. You get stuck in one gear.

Last night I ran 400s in around 74 seconds, which is considerably faster than I’ll be running my 10k on Monday or the 5000m on Wednesday. My 800s last Friday were about 2:35. I can run them faster but I end up with less volume. What a difference 5 seconds per interval makes in terms of strength. I can do 6@2:30 or I can do 8-9@2:35. I’m still working all of this out. I’ve always run my workouts too hard. This year I’ve been running my workouts slower but with a little more volume. When I look back on my running logs it looks like I suck compared to last year, except when I race. My race times are where they were this time last year and I’m working out slower.

I’m learning, what can I say. I’ve only been at this for 4 years, 2 of them meaningful. Mile repeats on Thursday and then I’ll be ready to go for the Scripps Old Pros 10k on the 4th and the 5,000m track race on Wednesday. I hope I won’t be too sore after the 10, although I just watched Rupp and Teg do them in back to back days. Perhaps I should HTFU.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

