Rock n Roll Half pre-race

I’m about to head out to the expo for the San Diego Rock n Roll Half Marathon. This is the second year I’m running the half after running the full in 2008 and 2009. I’m glad to be taking a break from the full and it means I get to help cheer on my training partners, who will probably need the blast of positive energy at mile 23 where I’ll be waiting for them.

The last couple weeks of training have been pretty lame. I went to Sequoia for a long 4 day weekend and didn’t do anything more than hiking while I was there. The last time I ran in Sequoia I nearly went face first into an Elk that was hanging out on the trail. So running wasn’t really in the plans. I didn’t get to do my indicator workout last week either due to upset stomach issues, which is frustrating. I basically haven’t run fast since my 5k 2 weeks ago. Now that 5k indicates a high 1:15 for the half but there’s no way in hell. I’m going out at 5:55 pace and we’ll see what happens. My half marathon PR is 1:17:28 from this rolling race last year and I don’t think I’m in as good of shape as I was then. At least my workouts seem to indicate that’s the case. So instead of stressing out about this race I’m going to enjoy myself and not worry about time too much. I don’t plan to really race a half until the fall anyways. My high expectations can wait until then.

In the meantime, I was running to Balboa Park yesterday afternoon and while crossing a street I heard a man on a bicycle say “Damn, he’s running fast!” to his partner in biking. I didn’t feel like I was running that fast and when I looked down at my watch was only doing 6:30 pace. But it’s nice to hear the encouragement, even when it wasn’t really intended. See you at the race on Sunday!

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rock n Roll Half pre-race

  1. Flo says:

    Good luck tomorrow, Wayne! And I love that compliment from a stranger, way cool.

Leave a Reply

