Summer Racing Schedule

I think I just solidified my summer racing schedule! I just saw that San Diego USA Track & Field announced this summer’s Wednesday Night track series. I ran two of the events last year, setting PBs in 3 races. There’s 4 meets this summer and I’m looking forward to some fast racing. I also finally found a 5k in May that fits into my schedule. Here’s what my race schedule looks like tentatively.

5/21/11 Magic Shoes 5k – Newport Beach, CA
6/5/11 Rock n Roll Half Marathon – San Diego, CA
6/8/11 Summer Nights #1 (Events TBA)
6/22/11 Summer Nights #2 (800m, 10k)
7/4/11 Scripps Old Pros 10k – Lake Miramar
7/6/11 Summer Nights #3 (5k, 400m)
7/10/11 Blood Bank 5k (?) – San Diego, CA
7/20/11 Summer Nights Championship (1500m/3000m?)
8/21/11 America’s Finest City 5k – San Diego, CA

After listing all of that out, I’m pretty sure I’ll skip a couple races. But I’m looking forward to setting some big PRs this summer. My 10k is ripe for the picking and I’d like to get my 5k to be 15:XX. I’ve never raced 800m/1500m/3000m so those should be interesting. My plan for the year was to do 5k/10k until I build my endurance back up to the point where I can really race the half marathon again. After Sunday in La Jolla, I’m pretty sure I’m there but I’m going to stick to the plan. In the Fall I plan on chasing the ever elusive 1:15 again.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

