If I Was One of the 7 Dwarfs, This Week I’d Be Sleepy

Something is going on. I’ve required so much more sleep in the last couple of weeks that I know my body is working overtime on something and I haven’t figured out what it is. A couple Fridays ago I was falling asleep at 7:30pm so I just gave in and ended up sleeping for over 10 hours. I normally live on 6-7 hours of sleep and could live on six before I started running high mileage. Lately I’ll wake up on seven hours and contemplate selling my soul for more. It’s problematic because I can’t get a morning run in unless I can fall asleep by 10:30, which rarely ever happens. That’s contributed to me missing some runs.

Last week I only ran 35 miles. Monday through Wednesday were good. Thursday was a cluster (for a lot of reasons), Friday I couldn’t get myself out of bed, and Saturday I just plain didn’t have time. The run I had yesterday (Sunday) just about killed me. One of those weeks I guess…

So what is it? Stress? I’ve definitely got increased stress, more than I’m letting on. Running more miles? Nope. I’ve been a slacker the last couple weeks. Busy? Very. Maybe it’s just the stress and the fact that I haven’t been able to really have a night down in 3 weeks. My introverted side could be telling my body that it’s going to get its downtime somehow, even if it has to steal it through sleep.

For runners sleep is supposed to be supremely important. I hear stories of how pros like Kara Goucher and Deena Kastor sleep 10 hours a night and then get in naps of over an hour during the day. I can’t even comprehend sleeping that much. To be honest, I don’t think I could handle it. I have so many hobbies I’d prefer to work on than sleep, I’ll sleep when I’m dead. Now that doesn’t mean that I don’t appreciate a good nap because on the weekends I’m a regular napper if I have the time. I know sleep is supposed to be important, but I was handling 70-80 mile weeks on 6-7 hours of sleep for a long time. Didn’t seem to kill me. Perhaps I’m paying it back now.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

