5ks and tapers?

Does one need to taper for a 5k? I fucking hope not. Excuse my language, I’m a little punchy and a friend brought out my sarcastic streak.

I’m running the Carlsbad 5000 on Sunday. I’m shooting for a 16:45, but really I’m going out in the 5:20s hoping I stay closer to 5:20 (that would be a 16:32 for those of you playing at home). Last year I was tapering for Boston when I ran and I had no life in my legs. I could’ve run all day but I had no speed. This year I’ve got crap for endurance but I’m pretty sure I can blow the doors off.

That’s if I didn’t screw it up this week. I went a little harder than I intended. Monday I ended up doing a light workout, 4x800m at around 5k pace. No problem. Tuesday turned out to be hill day with my run club so I got to have fun on Pershing Ave followed by ~100m sprints. The sprints would have been fine if I would’ve just held back. I get up to a sprint speed and I’m still in full control, then I have another gear where I go balls out and you can’t respond. If you don’t believe me, try to out kick me in a race shorter than the marathon. So… I got a little competitive and kicked it up on a few of the sprints. Stupid!! My quads and hamstrings were a little beaten up. But it’s okay.. that’s 5 days out.

On Wednesday I met up with Matt and Jess for a workout. I’ve been selecting the workouts and I selected a tough half marathon specific workout. We ran on the rolling hilliness that is Balboa Park near 6th Ave. It’s got a 2.5mi loop that kicks ass, more specifically, ours. I told them we’d do 3×2.5mi at half marathon pace with 2:30 rests. We ran the first interval a little too hard and they were dying. I tried to tell them it’s because of the hills, so this time I went out with Jess to make sure she was on pace (and also so I wouldn’t have to work as hard, since I’m racing). After number two she said she couldn’t do another. I talked her into doing it at whatever pace she could. Turns out, she can do three, she just had to get over her brain. That means I did nearly three (I had to stop early for reasons that ever runner knows about but doesn’t need to talk about) when I was only planning on two. My legs are feeling some DOMS today. Fortunately today is a rest day.

Tomorrow we’re supposed to run long in La Jolla. I decided I’d go but only do 10 miles.. and I’m going to keep it as hill free as possible in La Jolla… if that’s possible. Hopefully this lack of taper won’t kill me on Sunday. I mean, this is the first 5k I’ve done all season and I really want to nail it. Also it’s because the next two 5ks I had planned fall on days I have other plans. (Argh!!)

Okay… 5:20s… I can do this.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

