Nutrition

The good news is after taking a couple days off, my hip seems a lot better although I’m still experiencing the same hip flexor tightness. I’m hoping my PT exercises will take care of that in time. I need to stretch more anyway.

Nutrition is so important for running. It’s one of the first things I picked up on when I started getting serious. It affects you in so many ways that you can’t afford to ignore it. You might feel like crap on your off day or be running for the bathroom at the end of a run if you screw it up. First things first, figure out what doesn’t upset your stomach so you don’t have one of those runs. It happens to everyone eventually. Once you’re done with the run, get your post-run snack on! I always have Gatorade and a Promax bar after I run. It’s just part of the routine now. Meb Keflezighi has a banana after he runs, you should eat something too. Your body is most receptive to refueling immediately after your run so don’t wait. If you can’t tolerate food after the run then find a recovery drink that includes some protein.

All that being said, my nutrition has been terrible the last few days and I’m feeling it. I moved over the weekend and that basically meant I wasn’t on a normal eating schedule. I didn’t eat enough and I was eating dinner super late. On Monday I ran a light track workout, had my Promax bar and then spent 4 hours cleaning my old apartment. I didn’t even get to have dinner and it was really hard getting up the next morning. I’m a hummingbird as it is. I eat something about every two hours. I’ve been a grazer since Junior High because my metabolism is so high. I’m sitting here snacking on Triscuits while I write this.

Bottom line.. nutrition is important and I need to not suck at it just because I get busy. Recovery is just as important as training, so don’t skimp. Eating is part of your recovery.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

