Re-injury

My least favorite word in injured. My second least favorite word is re-injured.

I’ve been having hip flexor tightness for about a week. I ran a fast track workout on Thursday that felt okay as long as I was running like a track star and not a marathon runner (i.e. on the balls of my feet pushing with my calves, not shuffling and picking up my feet). I went out on Friday morning for a 9 mile recovery and realized I’m going duck foot again. My feet like to splay out.. the physical therapist said it was because of muscle imbalances (and I’ve been slacking on the gym and PT exercises, dumb!) but it may have also caused my hip problems last summer. So I recognize this on Friday and consciously straighten my foot out. The hip flexor tightness goes away immediately so I’m thinking all systems go. The minute I stop running, I can feel my bursa getting very angry with me. It’s the same spot as last summer, but on the opposite hip (the MRI showed inflammation on both hips, but it didn’t hurt on the left side).

So I’m doing what any intelligent runner would do. I’m taking a few days off. I hated to miss yesterday’s slow 19 miler. It was intended to be a conversational stroll with the 5 of us. Instead I went home and started moving boxes. Yes, I was going to run 19 miles and then move, I roll like that.

I’m going to take it easy for a few days and see what happens. It already feels a little better after taking yesterday off. Last time this happened I took a week off and it seemed to be okay. Better a week now than a few months later. In the meanwhile I’m going to get back on my physical therapy exercises. Let’s hope I’m good for the Carlsbad 5000 next weekend. I’m shooting for 16:45.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

