Recap

I’ve been as busy as all get out the last week or so. I’m packing to move apartments and between that and everything else there hasn’t been time to put my thoughts into words. I had a good week last week, running 60.5 miles. That’s the highest since last summer. But I’m still getting over bruised ribs and to add insult to injury, my back has been really tweaked for the last week and suddenly my hip flexors have been so tight I’ve had to back off some of my runs. Lets be honest, I’ve had some really shitty runs since Saturday. It happens.

Tonight I’m hopefully getting a dose of healing as I’m seeing my massage therapist. I tried to make an appointment with her two weeks ago and tonight was her first available spot. Apparently she’s becoming too popular! Hopefully she can fix my back and give me some insight as to why my hip flexors are so angry. On Monday they never loosened up and I bailed half way through my run. I’ve been stretching but it only helps a little. Makes me think there’s something else involved. My massage therapist is Jodi Kobashi (might as well plug her, she’s good at what she does) (jodikobashi@yahoo.com) and she is based in Mission Beach but she comes to you. That’s the best part. I don’t have to leave my house or drive home and tense up afterwards. Usually I peel myself off the table onto my couch and spend the rest of the night there. She’s wicked affordable too, although I don’t know how long that’ll last. She’s building up her clientele rapidly.

I did manage to run a halfway decent 2x3mi tempo last night through the whipping winds on Fiesta Island and De Anza Cove. The bad miles I probably lost 10 seconds a mile because of the wind. When I finally came around the east side of the island where it was calm I felt like a million dollars. The difference in effort was ridiculous. I guess it’ll toughen me up… Carlsbad 5000 is only a couple weeks away.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

