The Runners High

The runners high is real. My experience is that it doesn’t come during the run, but afterwards.

I had a crappy run tonight. I felt tight and my sore ribs are still making it difficult to breathe but the last couple miles were along a beautiful stretch of the Pacific Coast Highway. On my right was the ocean and the setting sun and on my left directly opposing the sun was the moon at it’s closest point in its orbit, slightly larger than usual and watching over me. It reminded me that even though the run was nothing to write home about, I get to enjoy the beauty and peacefulness of my route. I finished up as the sun was setting and stared in awe at the silhouette of Torrey Pines and all of the cars lined up below. It’s times like these that I wish I had a running camera. But it certainly couldn’t do the view justice or convey the feelings I had there.

I’m loving the extra daylight. I’ve been running places I don’t normally get to and that reminds me how much I miss exploring this world.

The runner’s high is real, you just have to wait until your legs and lungs get out of the way.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

