Knowing When To Take a Rest Day

I was supposed to run 15 miles today. I didn’t. It’s not because I raced yesterday, it’s because I went out with a bunch of co-workers and played Broomball for two hours. Broomball is a game held at an ice rink where you have paddles (or brooms) and you knock around a ball trying to score. Think similar to field hockey, but sliding around on ice. No skates.. you’re in shoes, spikes if you’re a smart man.

The first time you step out onto the ice you realize it’s not slippery and that you can walk around just fine. But once the game starts you’re not just walking. You’re lunging, changing directions, running, and doing a bunch of motions that probably aren’t smart to do on the ice. It’s not slippery until it is. That’s when you suddenly find yourself off balance and falling. I’m pretty good on my feet so I didn’t expect to fall but I did twice, the second time hard. What I discovered is that patches in the middle of the rink become devoid of snow and are ridiculously slippery. I went from running to flat on my back without a chance to react. Ouch. While trying to stay on your feet you use a whole lot of stabilizer muscles that you don’t ever use otherwise. I can’t tell you how sore my back and hips are today.

So being somewhat smart, I took today off. I decided I’d stretch instead and go find a new model of shoes. (I’m due, I need to replace the Glycerins that I refuse to overpay for) I went to RoadRunner Sports and then to Movin Shoes in Pacific Beach. After trying on a half dozen pair of shoes and talking with the two cool people who were working, I decided on the Brooks Ghost 3. I wanted something that wasn’t a plus shoe but would still be comfortable. I’ve been running in a heavy plus shoe since I started running in 2007 so it seemed a little outdated.

I don’t worry about taking days off too much. Yeah I might’ve missed a long run but in the grand scheme of things it’s just one day out of hundreds. One run isn’t going to break me, especially since I’m not in marathon training. I’m probably better off resting and recovering than trying to push my body when it’s tired. Train smarter, not harder.

All in all it was a good day. My ribs are sore though and my hips are still crazy tight. I’m itching to take my new shoes out for a spin tomorrow in the late daylight!

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

