The Difficulty with Time

Remember that song that says time is on my side? It’s lying. It’s not. Especially when it comes to running. The most difficult part of training for me is squeezing in the runs without socially ostracizing myself.

Friend: Hey, what are you doing tonight?
Me: I’m running after work.
Friend: Wouldn’t you rather go to xyz with us?
Me: Yes.. but… damn it.

It’s a tricky game. I really only get to run in the morning before work (waking up at 5:30am for a run really sucks when it’s dark and my bed is warm) or right after work. The problem with running after work is that I have a 45 minute commute, add an hour plus for my run, another 20 minutes for stretching and dawdling and I don’t get home until 7:30. That’s great, except that I need to shower and make dinner. On nights I run, I’m frequently not done until 8-8:30 and by then, my friends are already starting to pack it in and it’s too late to start anything. I could try running later after I’ve had fun with friends, but lets be realistic here. You go out for happy hour.. are you really going to run when you get home? Doubt it. And I know if I go home and sit down on the couch, there’s little chance I’m going to make it out for any sort of meaningful run.

Part of this problem is assuaged by the fact that a great many of my friends have gone and gotten married or are so wrapped up in their relationships that they’re impossible to hang out with. (Seriously, if I try to make plans with you 3 times and you never once bother to return the favor after repeatedly saying no, I’m calling you a lost cause) This is where I’m starting to miss my early 20s, when you could actually call people and they’d be up for something spontaneous. At least I’ve got friends who run and are game for happy hour/tacos/breakfast afterwards. But I think I need to expand out and run with more groups. I know there’s a Movin Shoes run on Mondays and a Meet Up group at Mission Bay on Wednesdays. The only problem there is that I run further and faster than most of the people and I’ve got a training schedule to keep. So my runs don’t fit in very well unless I’m just tacking it on as some easy miles. At the same time I also don’t want to be the one dimensional guy whose entire social life is limited to running after work. That’s not the business either.

It’s difficult balancing work, life, and running. I keep petitioning for a 30 hour day but the laws of physics keep denying it. If I could just have a few more hours a day where running wouldn’t conflict with having a social life, that’d be great. I’d also train a heck of a lot harder.

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

