Rounding Into Form

I feel like a million bucks. I threw down at our track workout tonight and it didn’t feel like it.

We restarted our Thursday night track workouts at Pt Loma this week. We were supposed to have 6 but 2 ended up working out early so it was just the 4 of us. I showed up with a workout in hand and paces for everybody that I culled from the McMillan calculator. We were running 6x1mi at 10k pace with 60 second recoveries. (I handed out everyone’s 10k pace, I think they like having a numbers guy around) I figured since we’re all signed up for the St. Patrick’s Day 10k it made sense to do a 10k indicator workout.

Matt is in pretty good shape right now.. I figured he’s good for 5:35-5:38 based on his last half. I was shooting for 5:40, Jess was in the 5:55 area code and Jeff was something under 6:30 pace. (He’s constantly around 1:30 in the half, but I’m sure it’s endurance that kills him, so he’s likely faster)

We started off Jess a little early since she was in between. She really hates getting strung out, but it’s difficult to find people in the 1:21 range and especially a woman, as she’d like. Because of the stagger, we kind of fudged our recoveries so Matt and mine were something like 70-80 seconds. I thought I’d be a few seconds behind Matt every repeat, but his breathing was hard 2 laps into the first repeat.

I ran 5:36, 5:38, 5:38, 5:38, 5:37, 5:36. Even better, I wasn’t struggling with those paces at all. I never felt like I got into oxygen debt. I’m psyched! I’m in better shape than I figured. If I can string those into 6 sub-5:40 miles at the 10k, I’ll be very happy with my progress. This was the first workout where I felt like I was back. I felt clunky on Tuesday’s tempo but today I felt smooth and in control. Afterwards I hardly felt tired. I wish I could bottle this feeling!

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rounding Into Form

  1. Great workout! I’ll see you at that 10K, be sure to say hi. You know, our team has a 1:22/2:53 gal… I’m pretty sure we wouldn’t mind stealing Jess from you 😉

  2. thedillyruns says:

    Ha! You can try to steal Jess, but I don’t think she’ll go for it. I keep telling her she can get free race entries and sponsors but it just stresses her out. She doesn’t like the expectations and is a little frazzled about defending her title in La Jolla.

    See you at the 10k!

Leave a Reply

