Races Need To Stop Selling Out So Early

I got an e-mail today from race organizers suggesting I sign up for the AFC Half Marathon. The e-mail reminds us that signups are up 25% from this point last year. What does that even mean? It’s February, I can’t even think that many holidays ahead. This August race sold out in June last year.

All the premature sellouts mean you have to plan your racing season extremely far in advance. For big marathons it’s not a big deal since you have to put in a large block of training anyway. But for shorter races, I don’t want to sign up 6 months in advance and then get injured and waste my money. I ate five race entries last year due to injury. It’d be better if more races had a transfer policy of some kind. Last year my goal race was Rock n Roll San Jose and when I discovered I wouldn’t be able to race, there were no transfers to others or towards next years race. Basically, I bought a $75 tech shirt. It was disappointing, especially for a big organization like Competitor.

I’m stuck in a quandary. I think I want to run the 5k (I signed up last year thinking I had a chance of winning and I would’ve been top 3) as opposed to the half, but I’m not ready to make a decision. So, I can wait and take my chances or I can sign up and take my chances. Damn it.. just don’t sell out so fast and I won’t have this problem! (I missed this race in 2007 because it sold out)

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

