Injuries are for the birds


A little bit of hubris on my part and some random injury contributed to a disappointing end to 2010. In August I went running one morning on a nice easy recovery run and found my hip a little sore. After the run I sat down for breakfast and it stiffened up so bad I could hardly walk. I’d never had any problems with my hips in the past. I had upped my mileage slightly, but it wasn’t anything I wasn’t doing pre-Boston Marathon. It’s been a big mystery.

After x-rays and an MRI and a number of doctors I was diagnosed with a hip impingement. Once the doctor started talking about surgery and shaving off bone I kind of glazed over thinking, “How could this kind of thing just show up one morning? This can’t be right.” So I chose the route of rest and physical therapy. The rest brought the swelling down and alleviated the symptoms of hip bursitis and the IT/piriformis pain I was having. It’s difficult to just stop running after you’ve been running 7 days a week for a year. I went out running on days I shouldn’t have, not really recognizing the seriousness of the injury. I mean how could I? It was completely out of the blue and didn’t make any logical sense.

So here we are 6 months later, still dealing with an angry hip. Maybe I’m the angry one. The hip just kind of sits there as if to say, “Who? Me? What did I do?” I’ve found that I can run, but I have to do a tedious amount of stretching and I’ve been unable to ramp up past 50 miles without reaggravating it. At the moment I’m running 4 days a week and I’m up to 40 miles. Days where I used to do recovery runs have been converted to cross-training days. The good news is that I can still hit my workouts and they’ve been quite good lately, considering all of the training I lost. The plan is to keep ramping up and if I break down again, I’ll go get that second opinion and probably the hip surgery. I’ve avoided it for so long, I could’ve gotten the surgery and been 100% by now. Whatever I have to do to run without limits, I’ll do it.

So I haven’t raced in 6 months. My last race was a 5k PR on the track in July. I’ve DNS’d on 5 or 6 races that I had paid for. On the bright side I sold my Silver Strand entry to the girl who won it. (She’s got ridiculous talent when she’s healthy) I’m entered to run the Super Run 10k this weekend. I really just need to find out what level of fitness I’m at so I can plan my workouts accordingly. I’d like to run 5:45s and I think it’s doable but my endurance is the big question mark. If nothing else, I’ll just be happy to race again. Now I just have to avoid another catastrophe like the day before Carlsbad. The worry right now is that my hip is sore from running down Mt Woodson in the rain yesterday. I’m hoping it’ll just go away, but the last time this happened I was out for two weeks. Stupid injuries..

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

