Sometimes you just want to talk running..

Sometimes I just want to talk running and put my thoughts to paper. If nothing else, this blog will serve as my chronicle through the trials and tribulations of running.

I’ve always had a strong will. In high school we ran for basketball and I remembered hating it because it was so difficult, but refusing to back off. After the first two days of practice, I was so sore I could hardly walk. We were sent off for 3 mile runs and although I had never run like that, I hung off the back of the pack of cross-country runners who were on the team. That was my introduction to running. It was hard but it was a personal challenge. I remembered thinking I could just turn the pain off to keep going. Those were the days when my lungs were stronger than my legs. The second year of basketball I was in much better shape and all of the cross-country kids had graduated. I made a habit of crushing everyone on the runs. At one point I came in so far ahead of everyone that the coach asked if I had gotten lost. I liked that feeling.. I’m surprised nobody ever suggested cross-country to me. Not that I would have anyways.. I hated running at that point in my life.

Fast forward to 2005. I ran on and off to stay in shape for basketball in college but never really saw it as an activity in itself. So on a lark I signed up for a 5k. I regularly ran a 3 mile route near my house and kept timed records to see how I was faring. I thought running a race might be fun. Morning of the race I felt sick, so I skipped out.

In 2006 my life underwent a great upheaval turning pretty much everything I knew on its head. The people I was close to moved away or drifted away, leaving me with time and the desire to make some new friends. The Rock n Roll Marathon route went right by my apartment and I’d noticed it in years past only because of the loud music. I went out and spectated and found myself strangely emotional while watching. There’s something about a marathon, people put themselves out there and leave themselves so raw, it’s inspiring. I decided I wanted to run one.

In 2007 I signed up for a run club that was training for the Rock n Roll Marathon. I didn’t know what I was doing but I figured it would be a great way to make friends and meet some girls. We met on Saturdays at 7am. The first weekend I swore at my alarm clock in disbelief that I had given up my Friday night of partying to wake up early and run on Saturday morning. We ran 7 miles that morning. It was the longest I’d ever run. Afterwards I stood around chatting with the members of the club and it felt good, really good. I got in my car and drove away thinking I couldn’t wait until next weekend. And that’s how I got started…

About thedillyruns

In 2007 I decided to join a running group to train for a marathon. I'd never run more than 4 miles at a stretch and never raced. I grew up playing basketball. After a promising first half marathon, I grew hungry to run faster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

